Christianity, Religions and Virgin Births

Zain Ibraheem
5 min readDec 26, 2020

--

Portrait Of Mother Mary With Jesus

It was fascinating when I first heard the story of gospels and it kind of burned me with Pleasant astonishment inside that “ God of the heaven and earth” comes out in the shape of human being produced by a chaste, inerrant Mother ended up Die for our sins and whoever believes in him shall also not die in hereafter. It was probably the Greatest Story I Have Ever Heard. Religion has been always the source of my belief in God and the stories of Prophets, Messiahs, Gods of the roman and Greek mythology kind of strike me with staggering astonishment. When I was a child my mother used to tell me stories of people who outdone science and produce miracles through their superpower that is a “Belief in God “and I used to ponder I would be able to do it when I will be a grown-up believer. Well, that wish did not turn true obviously.

As a child born in a Muslim Family I was told the verses of The Holy Quran which also endorses the belief that God placed Jesus in Mother Mary’s womb and that Mary The mother who was chaste, pure, undefiled and innocent.As a child, I used to ponder over it and ask myself how could that be possible but by the passage of time I realize that “ If you believe in God you could believe in most absurd of possibilities” because nothing is impossible for the God and he has said this many a times in his inerrant words.

What crossed my mind a lot more is that “Is mother Mary only chaste mother in the history or there is a lot of more to it? “. So, I hurled back to the religions and mythologies of the world and eventually I found out that there is a whole term called “Parthenogenesis Mythology”(Congrats If You Pronounce It Right) in academia for it. Parthenogenesis comes from the Greek word “Parthenos” essentially means “Virgin”. For Goddesses(Female Deity) being Parthenogenesic thus means who require no male partner to produce the cosmos, earth, life, matter and, even other gods out of their essence.

Isis Mother Of “The God Of Sky” Horus
Horus “God Of Sky “ Also Known As “Hawk-God”

The first famous miraculous birth predated Egyptian mythology and it is of God of sky “Horus” which was born out of Isis( Goddess) and there are numerous debates whether ISIS was sexless or virgin but many renowned scholars of religions agree upon that yes Horus the hawk-God was born out of Virgin Isis. Adding fire to the debate Horus from Egyptian mythology was also celebrated on 25th December as of Jesus and many scholars claim that the story of Jesus was taken from the Egyptian mythology of Horus. Christianity Thoroughly Rejected The Notion But This Has Been The Talking Point For Years Now.

Statue Of Rhea Silvia With Her sons Romulus and Remus

Rhea Silvia another goddess from Roman mythology is also taken in parthenogenesis mythology by giving birth to Romulus and Remus the brothers who later went onto founded the city of ROME. There are many more but the most amazing and most riveting person on the list is none other than the biggest God of Hinduism” Krishna”. Lord Krishna as claimed by mythology was born out of Devaki, a lady who was chastised. Reza Aslan, who is the best-known scholar of religion once called God Krishna “Jesus of Hinduism” in one of the public speaking events of his book “Jesus: the life and times of Nazareth”.

Portrait of Krishna With Her Mother Devaki
Statue Of Buddha

Apart from the people that I outlined in this piece there are more people like Buddha yes Gautam Siddharth (Buddha) who is claimed to be born divine and out of pureness and Maia from Roman mythology who is claimed from the parthenogenesis mythology but I did not find enough and compelling mythological reference to name them in the piece. What came hysterical to me that there are references of Genghis khan also born from miraculous birth but I did not step into that shoe for obvious reasons. So, The Virgin Births Are Very Prevalent And Been There Since Centuries. Whether You Believe In Any Of Them Or All Of Them It’s Your Choice Of Faith but Looking At all Of This I Marvel That There Are Things That Surely Interconnects Religions With Each Other.

I also want to elaborate a question often people ask me about and that is “don’t you think its apostate of you write on something which denies your religion”. The answer in nutshell is NO because there is a concept I want to highlight that will answer it. The concept is “The person of faith” and “the person of history”. The person of history tells you what was “likely happened” and the person of faith tells you “what was possibly happened” and It’s Up to you as a person to believe anything but I will urge you to read both and then believe in whatever you Feels It So but Always Remember That you can believe in your religion and simultaneously study other aspects Of The Picture as well.

Note: I fully state that this piece not in any purpose endorses or condemns anyone’s faith and purely deals with my research on religions out of curiosity of knowing. Faith is an individual right and everyone has the freedom to follow whatever he or she wants to adhere

--

--

Zain Ibraheem

25, writer interested in cinema, poetry, languages, civilisations, religions, history, art, stories.